Waiting on Wednesday: Red Queen

Wednesday, 3 December 2014


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where the participants tell their readers about an upcoming release they are waiting to read. This week I've picked Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. 


17878931
A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of DIVERGENT and THE HUNGER GAMES.

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers. To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

Admittedly, it is getting a little tiresome reading more and more books being compared to the likes of Divergent and The Hunger Games, but nonetheless, this book has been pretty hyped-up already and I'll be curious to see how other bloggers rate it as the release date comes closer.

Releasing 10th February 2015

20 comments :

  1. Ahhhh this book sounds so amazing!! Great pick :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yeahhhh I don't know about this one. I'm kind of a bit tired of dystopians, honestly - which is sad because there are AWESOME ones out there, but I've had so many bad experiences.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I get what you mean Emily, there have been a few that have fallen short for me too, but hopefully there are still some gems out there!

      Delete
  3. AHHH, THIS BOOK. Amazing pick. I've had my eye on this one ever since I saw its beautiful cover. But yeah--I get what you mean when you say you're beginning to tire of those comparisons. I am, too. I don't think I'll be able to resist picking this one up though. ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Kara :) I love that cover too!

      Delete
  4. I've seen this one around a lot as well. Like you, I'm so over dystopians but I'm hoping that this one will change how I feel about it. I've seen some really positive reviews!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too Laura, and that makes me hope that it will live up to the expectations - *fingers crossed*

      Delete
  5. Yes Red Queen OMG! I cannot waiiiit.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've seen so many things about this book, glad to hear you;'re excited about it too Mel :)

      Delete
  6. Totally lusting over the cover here and I just love the sound of this book! Cant' wait for it to be released.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does look so beautifully simple doesn't it? Funnily enough the crown kind of reminds me of Game of Thrones.

      Delete
  7. Hmm I think that maybe instead of the 'Hunger Games and Divergent genre' it can just be classified as Dystopian rather than being compared then, dystopian genres can just be expected to have revolutions etc. And it also helps people not hate on the hunger games and divergent series as being too mainstream.
    I've heard a lot about this book and I'll just add it to the to-read list! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's such a good point Renee - I still acknowledge THG and Divergent as fantastic dystopians, but I now a lot of others have begun to judge them because of all the comparisons. Hopefully this one is good though!

      Delete
  8. I just got approved for this on netgalley...I AM SO EXCITED OMFG!!!! I agree though, I'm so sick of the marketing department comparing books to other books. If a book is good, it can stand on its own!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooh lucky! Hope you like it Joy, looking forward to seeing what you think of it :)

      Delete
  9. Like Joy, I just got approved for this one on Netgalley too and can't wait to read it soon. This one caught my eye firstly because I thought it might have been Alice in Wonderland related, but it sounds brilliant. I like fantasy as long as it's infused with dystopian or another genre to soften it. Otherwise it gets a bit too geeky and wordy for me.

    Can't wait until you read this one too, then you, me and Joy can all fangirl or discuss it if it was crappy. Thanks for sharing poppet <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't usually read full-blown fantasy either, and it is nice to have the best of that genre mixed in with a few others. Fingers crossed this one is good!

      Delete
  10. I really don't think the comparison is necessary. Not every book is in the strain of The Hunger Games *sigh*

    BUT EEK. I am so excited to read this book. Ever since I saw that GORGEOUS cover, I have wanted to read the words inside. I hope it's fantastic.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Exactly, I'd be interested in this book even without being compared to those. That gorgeous cover may be one of the reasons XD

      Delete

Feel free to leave a comment below - I love reading them!